View By Designer View by Designer
View By Manufacturer View by Manufacturer

New Products
Designers & Manufacturers
Totem Exhibitions
Design Scene
Totem Media
Totem Contract

!K7: !K7150

The simple series number says it all: This is not just another compilation, but something special. !K7 Records´ 150th release is a milestone and it is a celebration. More precisely, !K7150 is both a retrospective of the label’s seminal artists and releases and a survey of it’s current roster and a peek into where things are headed.

As you might expect, !K7150 looks at the history of !K7 Records. As you may know, we release all sorts of electronic club music, whether it´s house, downtempo, hip hop, electro or minimal techno. Musical categories aren’t important; we value artists with skills and musical quality over all else. And with this as our guiding ethos, !K7 has grown into one of the world´s most celebrated independent artist labels.

!K7 Records was started in 1996. Founded in parallel to the already successful "DJ-Kicks" mix compilation series, the label was launched to establish a long-term platform for artistic and musical innovation. Early releases from cutting edge producers like Nicolette, K-Hand, Nick Holder and Terrence Parker were released to critical acclaim. In addition to our own releases we also started a label cooperation with G-Stone Recordings, the label of Peter Kruder & Richard Dorfmeister, which became a very fruitful partnership. Teamed up with !K7, releases from Kruder & Dorfmeister, Tosca and Peace Orchestra became some of the most highly regarded - and successful - electronic releases ever. Further signings included internationally recognized artists Smith & Mighty, Ian Simmonds, A Guy Called Gerald, Herbert feat. Dani Siciliano and Rae & Christian. German producers like Shantel, Funkstörung and Terranova were also engaged, and have now advanced into the international league of electronic musicians. In the new millennium, promising new artists like Swayzak, Earl Zinger, Spacek, Mike Ladd and Ghost Cauldron have signed at !K7 and extended our list of top-shelf artists. In the meantime, the DJ-Kicks series, with mix CDs by Kruder & Dorfmeister, Kid Loco, Rockers Hi-Fi, Nightmares On Wax, Thievery Corporation, Playgroup and Tiga advanced to become the "most important DJ mix series ever" (Mixmag). And !K7 Records has grown into a high profile label with offices in Berlin, London and New York.

With !K7150 we take a look at back catalog classics like "Black Baby" by Kruder & Dorfmeister or "Supa Sista" by Ursula Rucker as well as some exclusive tracks, new signings and their anthems-in-the- making: Tiga´s "Hot In Herre", Spacek´s "Motion Control" and Ghost Cauldron’s "Vortex" are tunes you will certainly hear more often in the upcoming months.

As a special gift to the loyal supporters who have helped !K7 Records grow and diversify, we have also included a DVD featuring many of the incredible videos - often shot by well known directors, like Designers Republic for Funkstörung´s "Grammy Winners" - our artists have made over the years. !K7150 shows where !K7 Records has come from and where it is today. And more importantly, it demonstrates that our name stands for good music, whatever the style.Chin chin, everybody!


1. Ursula Rucker - Supa Sista (Modaji Downlow Mix) *
2. Nicolette - No Government
3. Nick Holder - Sometimes I'm Blue *
4. Kruder & Dorfmeister - Black Baby
5. A Guy Called Gerald feat. Louise Rhodes - Humanity
6. Recloose feat. Dwele - Can't Take It
7. Vikter Duplaix - Sensuality
8. Spacek - Motion Control
9. Herbert feat. Dani Siciliano - Suddenly
10. Smith & Mighty feat. Tammy Payne - Same (Ashley Beedle´s Afroart Vocal Mix) *
11. Tosca feat. Tweed - Gute Laune
12. Earl Zinger - Song 2Wo
13. Rae & Christian feat. Bobby Womack - Wake Up Everybody (Rae & Christian Remix) *
14. Shantel - Inside

1. Herbert feat. Dani Siciliano - The Audience (vs. Jamie Lidell (Music No Last) *
2. Funkstörung feat. Jay Jay Johanson - I Want Some Fun
3. Playgroup - Behind The Wheel (DJ Kicks Electroca$h Mix)
4. Tiga - Hot In Herre
5. Swayzak feat. Clair Dietrich - Make Up Your Mind
6. Ghost Cauldron - Vortex (Disco Up Mix) *
7. Princess Superstar - Do It Like A Robot (Hell Rocks The Equalizer Remix) *
8. Swayzak feat. Adult - I Dance Alone (Silicon Scally Mix) *
9. Funkstörung - Grammy Winners (Instrumental) *
10. Terranova feat. Mike Ladd - Sublime
11. Ghost Cauldron feat. Apani B Fly - Whole World (Album Mix)
12. Mike Ladd - Jet Pack *
13. Peace Orchestra - Double Drums (DJ DSL Mix)
14. Terranova feat. Ari-Up - No Peace *

Copyright © 2008 David Shearer   
Site Search Contact Us About Totem Home Home